top of page
Search

Meet the real Miss Congeniality, Lara

"Hi there! My name is Lara Hakamaki. I am 24 years old and grew up in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, Iron Mountain specifically. I went to Albion College and graduated in 2020. My plan was to go into orthodontistry. I ended up majoring in economics & management with a dual minor in psychological sciences and cell & molecular biology. I played softball for about a year in college and was a part of a couple different clubs as well as being a resident assistant for one of our dorms. After college, I received an offer for my dream job. Michigan Psychological Care had hired me as the Director of Corporate Development. I started this September of 2020 with 3 offices and have assisted in growing the company to now 5 psychology offices, 1 Autism & ABA, an IV bar, a rapid covid testing site, and more to come. Michigan Psychological Care provides mental health care to Michigan residents. With options of in person or telemedicine for individual, group, family/couples counseling, psychological evaluations, substance use treatment, and much much more, we are here to help. Part of my position is connecting with local physicians to incorporate mental health care into physical healthcare. One of my favorite things to do in my position as Director of Corporate Development is to connect with the community. From sponsoring or having booths up at events, sponsoring local sports teams, sponsoring my running in the Miss Michigan USA pageant, or being a part of the SJ Call In Coalition. The SJ Call in Coalition has been a huge help and asset to our Clinton County communities. I met Andrea with the Call in Coalition soon after it was created. Michigan Psychological Care had sponsored a chalk event run by the coalition. We purchased chalk, drinks, and snacks for the event. From there, we have loved working with the coalition. We have attended pride festivals, school board meetings, the stand with MSU event, stump the therapist, and more. We are looking at ways to further our partnership and continue supporting our community. We are even thinking of doing an event for the kiddos of Clinton County with my platform of Miss Gratiot County and mental health awareness.
Like I said, I am Miss Gratiot County USA 2023. I am competing for the title of Miss Michigan USA 2023. My platform is mental health awareness. With my position at Michigan Psychological Care, connections to the SJ Call in Coalition, Podcast, schooling, and experience, I take my passion to the stage. I will be competing with around 60-70 other beautiful, hard-working, intelligent women on June 2nd and 3rd in Port Huron.
The podcast I mentioned earlier is called "You're Not Crazy by Lara Hakamaki". It can be found on all podcasting platforms. We chat about mental health matters and normalize talking about mental health. We have licensed clinicians come in to talk about their specialities and the backside of therapy. We have episodes up on controversial words and phrases in mental health, the movie "Split" and Dissociative Identity Disorder, first session expectations (from a client, therapist, and front desk base), Living with Tourette's Syndrome, Journaling, Mental health in the school systems, LGBTQ+, toxic/abusive relationships & sexual assault, school shootings, imposter sydrome, and much more. We plan to talk on sex & intimacy issues, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, the difference between psychiatry and therapy, and much much more. Follow us and let's have the conversations most people are too scared to talk about! In my free time I like to spend time at home with my 30+ animals. I have 4 dogs, 3 cats, 2 bunnies, 2 bearded dragons, a snake, lots of chickens, ducks, and a turkey! People think it's funny that they all have names and get bedtime kisses every night. My little farm is my happy space. I also like to do makeup, skincare, fashion, sports, anything outdoors, hang out with family and friends, and spend time with my partner. The SJ Call in Coalition has been such a dream to work with and I suggest any and everyone should volunteer, donate, or become a part of the coalition. "
Since Lara interviewed with us, she competed in the Miss Michigan USA Pageant on June 2 & 3. Lara was voted by her peers to receive the award for Miss Congeniality, selected on the basis of outstanding kindness and dedication her her chosen cause - an incredible honor. We at the SJ CIC are so lucky to receive Lara's support and passion!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page