top of page
Search

Meet our newest volunteer, artist, free spirit, agent of change, Nicki

Brought to you by the incredible writings of St. Johns' own Kelly McCausey!


One of our newest SJ Call In Coalition volunteers is Nickie Herring.


Raised in St. Johns, Nickie often felt a love/hate relationship with the community. There was always appreciation for the cozy small town vibes but she felt it was a struggle to fit in. Teen life is tough on most of us, teen life as a bisexual woman in a small conservative town, carried extra challenges.


Thankfully, she was blessed with parents who raised her to feel comfortable with being her true self. Nickie especially appreciated her mother’s (Carrie Lampman) unconditional support and love.


Nickie’s mom died from terminal cancer after a long battle while she just 16, leaving her and two younger siblings (Lucas and Minnie) with their father (Steven Herring).


Carrie often shared the quote ‘Be the change you want to see in the world’ with her daughter.


Nickie shares: “One of the greatest things that my mother believed in was that she never cared about what others thought of her, a great example of authenticity and realness in a person. She is a huge inspiration to me and the reason why I always stay true to being myself regardless of what others think.”


Nickie has the fondest memories of her mother’s community involvement. She saw her participate in a variety of activities and always make herself available when someone needed a listening ear. She says “Most of my mom’s morals and values were passed on to me, and I find my mother in a lot of the things I say or do on a daily basis.”


Surely it’s this example of connection and support of others that has called Nickie to be part of the SJ Call In Coalition.


When Nickie reached adulthood, like many of our young people, she wanted to get away for a fresh start and spent a few years out west in Moab, Utah. She returned to St. Johns in 2022 and felt uplifted by the changes she could see around her – namely, the fact that the community was showing more acceptance of LGBTQ people.


“It was mind blowing to come back home and see all of the big changes that took place in the three years that I was gone- and for it to be a positive change made it even better. That’s how quick change can happen.”


While volunteering at the 2022 Fall Feastival, she got to learn all about the work our group has been dedicated to. Nickie felt particularly excited about the annual Pride Fest and decided to join us to be part of this and other projects.


Nickie says “I want to help shape a positive future for my hometown by being a positive influence and supporting the freedom of self-expression and individualism. I believe we can coexist and enjoy a community of togetherness regardless of who you are and what you believe in.”


Nickie brought two beloved cats home from Utah, Tarot and Oracle. She has a strong passion for creating music since the age of 4 with the guitar, violin, piano, drums, and singing. She likes to like to travel, collects vinyls, stickers, and pins. She says “I like to do deeper research on my favorite bands and music history on my free time. I consider myself an extravagant person and always like to stand out from the crowd in my fashion and image.”


She’s been a Deadhead since the age of 16. (That’s what fans of the Grateful Dead call themselves.). She works Night Audit at the Courtyard by Marriot in downtown Lansing. Her passion these days is being a budding Flow Artist. Practicing Flow has given her a sense of personal creativity and fulfillment. Seeing others enjoy the artful dance gives her a lot of joy.


Look for Nickie and her Flow Artistry at the 2023 Pride Fest.





81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page